Posted by: hudsonian | February 27, 2009

Dancing at dusk

I was fortunate tonight on my way home from work to be at the right place at the right time. 

 
Disappointed to find no lunchtime tugs and none at 5PM at Poughkeepsie I drove home along River Road in Esopus with my VHF tuned to Channel 13 hoping to get lucky.  As usual I pulled into Lighthouse Park and looked through binoculars northward to Kingston Point and beyond.  There I spied, off Sturgeon Point, near Port Ewen, two tugs quite close to one another. 
 
Driving north to get closer, a VHF broadcast between the two crews indicated that one of the tugs, the Solomon Sea, was running on just one engine.  A discussion ensued between her crew and that of the other tug, Maryland, whether Solomon Sea could continue with the barge down the icy river.  Finally, it was decided that without both engines she could not and that the barge would be transferred to Maryland.
 
I parked my car across a driveway along the narrow road and shot these images with my camera on a tripod and the shutter set to a self timer to try to minimize camera shake.  I kept snapping away and without really knowing what was happening I managed to capture the entire operation.     
Leave a Reply

Categories

